banana splitThe New England Ice Cream Restaurant Association (NEICRA) is the premier organization of ice cream professionals operating within New England and its surrounding states. It includes a large group of independent and franchise shop owners and an extremely dedicated group of supplier members. Together we make up the NEICRA family.

Our goal is a cooperative one: to serve those who serve ice cream as a profession.

Since our inception in 1946, our membership has grown to represent every state in New England, as well as quite a few from surrounding states. Our ranks include businesses ranging from the "giants" of the industry to small, single-person operations. Our efforts are supported by our industry suppliers, who support us as Associate Members.

We were founded on the concept of information exchange. NEICRA is the hub around which ideas, technology, and techniques are shared for mutual benefit. This exchange is meant to improve the way you do business, increase your profits, and make your enterprise more successful.

If you're new to the ice cream industry, we encourage you to join us. Our group is sharing and supportive, and our annual meetings and Fall conventions are wonderful resources to help learn from those who already run successful ice cream businesses.

Feel free to explore our website to learn more about our organization. If you'd like to speak directly to one of our officers, visit our Contact Page and send us an inquiry.

2013 Dick Warren Memorial Scholarship Awards

dickwarrenAt the Awards dinner of our 2013 Annual Convention at Foxwoods Resort, 1st Vice President Ron Covitz announced the winners of the 2013 Dick Warren Memorial Scholarship Awards.

This year's group of applicants was an especially strong one. We had 21 applications submitted, accompanied by glowing letters of recommendation from our sponsoring members. Choosing the top applicants is always a difficult task, as many of the applicants are extremely deserving of an award.

Nevertheless, we have tallied our ratings, and our committee was  in close agreement as to the top three applicants:


  1. Rachel Connolly$1000 award to Rachel Connolly, of Bridgewater, MA, sponsored by Prisco's Country Creamery, Bridgewater, MA. Rachael attends Worcester Polytechnic Institute, where she is studying Biomedical Engineering.
  2. $500 award to Rylee Weinstein, of Sunapee, NH, Rylee Weinsteinsponsored by Sanctuary Dairy Farm Ice Cream, Sunapee, NH. Rylee attends The University of Rhode Island, where she is studying Healthcare.
  3. Michaela Ryan$500 award to Michaela Ryan, of Salem, CT, sponsored by Salem Valley Farms Ice Cream, Salem, CT. Michaela is attending Stonehill College where she is studying Neuroscience.

Congratulations to our award winners! We feel that they perfectly represent the type of hardworking, dedicated employees that would have made Dick Warren proud.

Our scholarship review committee consisted of: 

  • Ron Covitz, Ron's Gourmet Ice Cream, Hyde Park, MA (Chair)
  • Pat Covitz, Ron's Gourmet Ice Cream, Hyde Park, MA
  • Teresa Andreoli, Arundel Ice Cream Shop, Arundel, ME
  • David Mabel, The Ice Creamsmith, Dorchester, MA
  • Steve Reppucci, Mad Maggie's Ice Cream, North Andover, MA 

My sincere thanks to all of the scholarship committee for donating their time to review this very deep pool of applications!

Ron Covitz
Dick Warren Scholarship Committee Chair